Totally tactical pants, etc.

Besides the satisfaction of providing you all with the latest-and-greatest up-to-the-minute news and views, and the pleasure of getting to test some really great gear, I always enjoy hearing from our loyal readers from all over the world.

On that note, we all know that there has been a real revolution in military and law enforcement tactical gear over the past 1o-15 years – in fact, over the weekend I was reminiscing on the fact that when I served in the Army in the 80’s, we were still provided with pup tents first issued in 1951!  Maybe it was the sight of all the medieval re-enactors tents we saw at the Edgecote Tournament yesterday that made me think about that.

One of the other, but less publicised, big changes I’ve seen in the world of military and tactical matters in recent years is the rise in the number of female soldiers and operators – and the much greater extent to which their presence in the ranks is accepted as normal.  And as I learned recently when I heard from Jeanette K., some women read Strike-Hold! and write for other tactical gear blogs as well.

So, for example, on the Tactical Pants Blog that Jeanette writes for, you’ll find informative articles about the hazards of the cargo pocket snag, the problem (and embarrassment) of crotch blow-out, a ladies’ guide to finding the right-fitting tactical pants (i.e., trousers), and a lot more useful news and reviews all about tactical trousers.

And if you like your tactical gear served up with a hefty dose of tongue-in-cheek (as well as just plain cheek), then be sure to check out the Tactical Gear Blog.  recent articles range from the useful “How to Build a Tactical Gear Stand” to the humorous “9 Ways to Make Your Baby More Tactical”.  This last one definitelly reasonated with me – I did buy a full-length camouflage onesie for our baby daughter, but I think my wife might draw the line at getting a bullet-proof stroller!  😉



About this entry